Confessions of a Guitar Junkie

As a child I learned to play the guitar on my father’s 1935 Epiphone Blackstone guitar. He traded in a violin to get that guitar (his mother wanted him to play the violin). He learned fast and soon found himself playing with a band in “Speakeasies” during prohibition at the tender age of 15. One night the speakeasy he was playing in got raided and he was the only one the police let go. He says it was because of his age. They told him that they never wanted to see him again in that kind of place. He promised to stay away from speakeasies and he kept his word. In fact I don’t think he played much after that, but he did keep the guitar. Many, many years later (I think I was 12) I took an interest in it and convinced him to pay for my lessons.

I got my first new guitar when I was 14 or 15 years old. It was a Christmas gift and I completed my lessons with it. I have never played professionally (just in a high school band), but those two guitars got me started down a road that I continue to travel on to this day. That is, ya I confess, I am a guitar junkie. Now, I really don’t want to be a guitar junkie, but something compels me to keep looking at new guitars and to buy another one every once in a while.

I don’t have every guitar that I have ever purchased as I have sold some over the years, but I certainly have many more than I need or play. I think that the reason that I keep buying them is that I am looking for a certain sound. I do admit that the guitars that I have purchased over the years all fall into the low to medium price range. In fact, I don’t think that I have ever played a guitar that is priced at the high-end.

My thinking now is that I should sell all the guitars that I have and spend time to find a good high-end guitar that gives me the sound that I am looking for. What I am afraid of is that I will eventually own several high-end guitars. So instead of being a cheap guitar junkie, I would end up being a high-priced guitar junkie. Is there really a difference?

What do you think?

